And the Oscar goes to…..

The annual American Academy Awards, known commonly as the Oscar Awards, is the oldest running entertainment award ceremony. The first ceremony was held in 1929 and tickets to the event cost five dollars.

The first ceremony lasted around 15 minutes as all the winners had been announced three months earlier. A far cry from today’s show-biz extravaganza. Now days the ceremony lasts around four hours.

The ceremony was first televised in 1953 and is now watched in over 200 countries across the world. Many related traditions and ceremonies have cropped up around the main event, with the ‘red carpet’ being the most important. Being photographed, interviewed, or better still, causing a scandal on the stretch of red carpet leading from the road to the entrance of the Oscars, can make or break a celebrity’s career.

The first man and first lady of the Spanish film world, Penélope Cruz and her husband Javier Bardem were both the first Spanish to be nominated in the category of Best Actress and Best Actor. In 1982 Volver a empezar was the first Spanish language film to win an Oscar.

The nominations for Best Picture this year are:

American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street

Which film do you think should win?

OScar 2014

Written for My Language Coach © 2014 Prithika Nair. All rights reserved.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seven − four =